2010 Excellence in STEM Teaching Award Activities

October 5, 2010

The Rochester Area Colleges Center for Excellence in Math and Science has recently chosen five local educators as finalists for the 2010 Excellence in STEM Teaching Award.  This award is given annually to recognize effective, engaging, and innovative Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) teaching in grades K-12 in Monroe and nine surrounding counties.

This year’s finalists are

Mrs. Laura Westerman - Science Teacher, Dake Middle School in West Irondequoit

Scott Krebbeks, Science teacher, Honeoye Falls - Lima Middle School

Mr. Robin Hill - Teacher at Martin Luther King Jr. School #9, in the Rochester City School District

Mr. Andy Maillet, Math Teacher, Greece Athena High School

Mr. Robert Hollwedel, Technology Teacher at Alexander Jr/Sr High School

To apply for this award, local STEM educators submitted nomination packets with reference letters, an innovative and effective learning activity, and an explanation of how the activity is used in their classroom. Finalists were then selected by a jury of local teachers who have been recognized at the state and national level.  Visit the Rochester Area College’s Center for Excellence in Math and Science’s website to view finalist’s activities.

All five finalists will receive a travel scholarship for up to $2,000 to attend a STEM learning conference of their choice. In addition, one of the five finalists will be chosen for the grand prize of a $10,000 classroom upgrade.  These prizes are made possible though a generous donation from Wards Natural Science of Henrietta, NY.

The winner will be announced at the Rochester Area College’s Center for Excellence in Math and Science Collaboration Event this Thursday, October 7th at the Rochester Museum and Science Center.