Integrating Literacy and Mathematics

As the importance of integrating literacy and mathematics is being stressed more and more in our elementary schools, Investigations has compiled a list of recommended childrens’ books with math themes.  The list is broken in to grades K-2 and grades 3-5.  The RACCEMS has also compiled a list of favorite mathematics books on our website!

What are some of your favorite childrens’ math books? What are some strategies for integrating literature into your mathematics lessons (or mathematics into your ELA lessons!)?  Comment below to share!

One Response to Integrating Literacy and Mathematics

  1. Amanda Davenport says:

    As a fourth grade math teacher in inner city Miami, math literature was a core part of my class’s weekly schedule. I think that many of these books made a lasting impression on my students and I know that they helped to engage them and help them internalize concepts. There are too many for me to list here! A few include:
    One Grain of Rice
    The Fly on the Ceiling
    A Remainder of One
    The Greedy Triangle
    I have a list of my favorite picture books on my educational blog, Their Hearts and Minds, and I know it’s disproportionately tipped towards math literature. I wish that there had been books like this when I was a fourth grader!
    Amanda Davenport
    Teachers College, Columbia University
    http://amandadavenport.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

